16th Annual Summit Awards

SSBA’s 16th Annual Summit Awards Breakfast was held on a snowy February 7, 2018 at elegant Idlewild Country Club.  A capacity crowd gathered to excitedly celebrate, recognize and honor this year’s six awardees for their outstanding business achievements.  They enjoyed great networking, a tasty buffet breakfast, door prizes, and a pertinent and informative presentation by Eric Xidis, NWI Times.


Sponsored by 

The Annual Summit Awards honor leading business people and organizations who have contributed to the economic and cultural growth of the region.  Each of the awardees is carefully selected from the many businesses and organizations in the region for their outstanding performance and excellence in their qualifying category.

The Summit Awardees for 2017 are:

Small Business of the Year Award recognizes a business’s management ability, continued growth, innovativeness of their product or service, and contribution to the community or others.
Awardee:  Center for Dental Excellence of Flossmoor Il. Click for more info.    Click here for website
Honorable Mention:  Rad Electric LLC of Calumet City Il. Click for more info.    Click here for website

Training Excellence of the Year Award recognizes businesses that are striving to maintain and upgrade their employees’ skills, contribution to the community or others, value added from the training process to their business and recognition of being ready for new or changing technologies or processes.
Awardee:  Mark Kramer, Rich Township High School District 227, Manufacturing Careers Outreach Coordinator and former principal of Rich East High School. Click for more info.  

Economic Development Leader of the Year Award acknowledges management ability and contribution to the community and region by working toward continued growth and viability of the region, along with efforts made to build good, strong relationships with business.
Awardee:  Calumet Area Industrial Commission. Click for more info.    Click here for website

Creative Arts Award acknowledges the ability to offer top-caliber talent to the community, the use of local talent representing the diversity of the communities it serves, demonstration of continued growth and success as an organization and its willingness to engage in collaborative efforts with other creative arts organizations.
Awardee: Suburban Youth Symphony Orchestra  (SYSO). Click for more info.    Click here for website

Young Entrepreneur of the Year Award recognizes the vision, innovation and hard work of a young person; their contribution to the community or others;  and raises awareness in our communities and among our youth of the critical role that private enterprise and entrepreneurship play in the building of America.
Awardee:  Lauren Parker, Homewood-Flossmoor  High School. Click for more info.    Click here for website




When: Wednesday, February 7th, 2018

7:30 – 7:45 a.m. Check in and Networking
7:45 – 10:00 a.m. On time Drawing Gift, Breakfast, Speaker, and Awards
Where: Idlewild Country Club (click for directions)
Address:  19201 Dixie Highway, Flossmoor, Illinois 60422

Keynote Presentation:   Do’s and Dont’s of Digital Media

Keynote Speaker:  Eric Xidis,  NWI Times

Share This Post
Have your say!
0 0

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>