11th Annual Summit Awards

SSSBA’s 11th Annual Summit Awards were held at the elegant in Flossmoor, Il. on February 13th, 2013. A capacity crowd gathered to recognize and honor this year’s six awardees for their outstanding business achievements.

Sponsored by  

The Annual Summit Awards honor leading business people and organizations who have contributed to the economic and cultural growth of the region.  Each of the awardees is carefully selected from the many businesses and organizations in the region for their outstanding performance and excellence in their qualifying category.

The Summit Awardees for 2012 are:

Small Business of the Year Award recognizes a businesse’s management ability, continued growth, innovativeness of their product or service, and contribution to the community or others.
Awardee:  Flossmoor Station Restaurant & Brewery, Flossmoor, Illlinois

Training Excellence of the Year Award recognizes businesses that are striving to maintain and upgrade their employees’ skills, contribution to the community or others, value added from the training process to their business and recognition of being ready for new or changing technologies or processes.
Awardee 1:  Al-Amin Brothers Transportation & Warehousing LLC
Awardee 2:  Gareda LLC

Economic Development Leader of the Year Award acknowledges management ability, contribution to the community and region by working toward continued growth and viability of the region, efforts made to build good, strong relationships with business.
Awardee:  John M. Watson, Jr., Director of Economic Development, South Holland, Ilinois

Creative Arts Award acknowledges the ability to offer top-caliber talent to the community, the use of local talent representing the diversity of the communities it serves, demonstration of continued growth and success as an organization and its willingness to engage in collaborative efforts with other creative arts organizations.
Awardee:  Governors State University Nathan Manilow Sculpture Park, University Park, Illinois

Young Entrepreneur of the Year Award recognizes the vision, innovation and hard work of a young person; their contribution to the community or others;  and raises awareness in our communities and among our youth of the critical role that private enterprise and entrepreneurship play in the building of America.
Awardee:  Jordan Culpepper, Junior at Homewood-Flossmoor High School, CEO of Buttons by Jordan, Hazel Crest, Illinois



When: February 13th, 2013

7:30 – 7:45 a.m. Check in and Networking
8:00 – 9:45 a.m. Breakfast and Awards Event
Where: Idlewild Country Club (click for directions)
Address:  19201 Dixie Highway, Flossmoor, Illlinois

Keyboard Artist:  Jacari Lobbins

Keynote Presentation: Investment Truisms: Logical Fallacies?

Jeff Weniger, CFA

BMO Private Bank, Senior Investment Analyst

 Mr. Weniger serves as capital markets strategist with direct responsibility to the CIO. His expertise is in fundamental, economic and behavioral analysis as well as financial modeling. He is responsible for strategic and tactical asset allocation in a private client setting. Mr. Weniger is a member of the Asset Allocation Committee and Fixed Income Committee. He is general editor of and writes the introduction to the firm’s flagship monthly strategy publication, which analyzes investment grade fixed income, high yield bond, commodity and international equity. He also is co-manager of the firm’s Strategic Fund Portfolio and Diversified Income Strategy and is responsible for advising on special situations such as concentrated stock solutions. He joined BMO in 2006. Mr. Weniger earned his bachelor’s degree in Finance from the University of Florida – Warrington College of Business in 2003 and received his MBA in Investments from the University of Notre Dame – Mendoza College of Business in 2006.

Mr. Weniger has experience with product development and speaks to large groups of clients and professionals on capital markets research. His specialties are on strategic and tactical asset allocation, while being particularly proficient at speaking and producing written research.


For additional information or questions, our contact information is on this page at the upper left. You can contact us online by clicking on the “contact us” link at the upper right.

To read about previous year’s Awardees: Please click here.

Share This Post
Have your say!
0 0

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>